The Violets of March by Sarah Jio


The Violets of March by Sarah Jio

Emily’s Great-Aunt Bee invites her spend a month at her home on Bainbridge Island in the Puget Sound.  Emily had written a very popular novel years before, but now she has major writer’s block . . .  in part because her husband has left her for another woman.  On the island, Emily remembers wonderful childhood summers spent there in the home of her Aunt Bee.  It is a wonderful place to take a break.

In the drawer of the “pink bedroom”, she discovers a diary written in 1943.   As she reads it slowly, she begins to discover the connections to her own life, both literally and figuratively.

This book appealed to me personally because I loved genealogy mysteries.  This book in part includes this very appealing aspect.  I could not stop reading this book, and even tried to read while cooking at the stove!  I think the only real criticism of this book that I have is that if I were the main character, I would have real the entire diary in one fell swoop – even if that meant staying up to 4 am.  She instead seems to just read an entry or two a day, and I found that alone extremely annoying.  I realize that the story needed to unfold a bit more slowly, but I do question if that is what would really happen in real life!

(12 of 30 for Summer Reading Online)

Leave a Reply

