Haunted Stuff by Stacey Graham

Haunted Stuff: Demonic Dolls, Screaming Skulls & Other Creepy Collectibles by Stacey Graham (2014)

This book explores the stories of dolls and other collectibles that are haunted, just as the subtitle states.  The author suggests that items that were well-used or well-loved by their original owners retain of their spirit.

This book is only for those who are into this kind of thing.  I have always liked a good ghost story, but I forgot until I read this in bed one night that I should not read this kind of stuff in the dark!  This book actually rather freaked me out more than I expected, and perhaps it is that I had an experience in an antique shop 15 years ago that left me pretty shaken.  I had been wandering around antique shops most of the afternoon with some family members, and I remember pushing my baby niece in her stroller.  In this one shop, my head suddenly and painfully hurt, as if it were being compressed, and my whole body felt weird.  I remember saying to my brother that I needed to leave that particular room in the store. I did, and took my niece with me.  I had been relaxed, so it wasn’t a panic attack.  I was  fine once I was outside for a minute.  I also tried to explain it to myself that it must have been an incredible amount of mold on some object (I am highly allergic to mold.)  When my brother came out, he asked, “Did you feel that? ”  I told him about the pain and the pressure, and he wasn’t surprised – he’d experienced something similar.  Either that room or something in that room was haunted.  It was so heavy.   Obviously, I haven’t forgotten that experience since.  Fortunately, maybe, I haven’t had a similar experience since.

(Summer Reading Online 14 of 30)

Leave a Reply

